12 replies to this topic

#1 museumtom

museumtom

Lieut-General

• Old Sweats
  • 5,104 posts
  • Interests:The Great War

Posted 08 December 2010 - 07:28 AM

I am working my way through a 1914 article, thats the only way to descirbe it. It says that a bullet travels at 2,000 feet per second and drops 6 inches the first 100 yads and 2 feet at 200 ys. I get the impression that this was writte about black powder rifles and not the SMLE, Any ideas? Should this article be about pre ww1 rifles?
Kidn regards.
Tom.

#2 Doc2

Doc2

Lieut-Colonel

• Old Sweats
  • 1,039 posts

Posted 08 December 2010 - 07:51 AM

I am no expert, but that certainly would not apply to modern loadings of the .303 round. Most of those have MV of about 2400-2600 fps and a 200 yard drop of about 12 inches. On the other hand, a blackpowder muzzle loader giving 2000 fps is fast (though possible with some loadings) with a drop at 200 yards of 21-26 inches, depending on bullet weight etc. I do not know about the ballistics for rifles in between, but I suspect your guess that the article is talking about pre-SMLE rifles. Doc

#3 TonyE

TonyE

Major-General

• R.I.P.
  • 3,648 posts
  • Interests:British military Small Arms and ammunition.

Posted 08 December 2010 - 09:48 AM

Those figures are wrong for any small bore rifle (i.e. not a large calibre black powder cartridge like the .577/.450 martini Henry or similar) firing a pointed spitzer bullet at that sort of velocity.

For the SMLE in WWI the normal service round was the Mark VII ball with a 174 grain bullet at a muzzle velocity of 2,440 fps. This was introduced in 1911, but for earlier marks of SMLE made between 1902 and 1911 and not re-sighted, and for the long rifles of the Territorials and colonial units the cartridge was the ball Mark VI. This had a 215 grain round nosed bullet with a muzzle velocity of 1,970 fps.