12 replies to this topic

#1 Old Tom

Old Tom

Brigadier-General

• Old Sweats
  • 2,447 posts
  • Interests:Tactics and technology

Posted 06 March 2011 - 01:15 PM

This gas delivery system was devised by Capt Livens RE and after first use in 1916 was manufactured in large numbers. A reference in the History of the Ministry of Munitions credits the design to Capt Livens and his father. Can anyone tell me about the part played by Mr Livens senior?

Old Tom

#2 gem22

gem22

Lieut-Colonel

• Old Sweat
  • 1,385 posts

Posted 06 March 2011 - 03:58 PM

OT

I'm no expert on this so I went back to Richter's book 'Chemical Soldiers'. No mention is made of Livens senior but one sentence on the subject may be of interest: " Though called the Livens projector, the weapon was clearly the result of brainstorming and experimentation by several Z company engineers, Harry Strange in particular.
I suspect that this quote could leave you with more questions than answers so I hope someone can give you a straight answer to your query.

Garth

#3 centurion

centurion

General

• Old Sweats
  • 23,825 posts
  • Interests:Military history, science fiction

Posted 06 March 2011 - 04:29 PM

Liven's father was chairman of Ruston and Hornsby of Lincoln. I believe that he was instrumental in providing the manufacturing capacity for the Livens Large Gallery Flame Projectors which are nothing to do with the later Livens Projector.

With the relative failure of the above device Livens and Strange together improvised various means of hurling drums of inflamable material into the enemy trenches. Livens then went on to refine a means of projecting such drums. This device was then adopted as a means of projecting gas canisters. I don't think Livens senior had anything to do with this. Once again there seems to have been confusion between different Livens devices.

#4 J Banning

J Banning

Lieut-Colonel

• Old Sweat
  • 1,145 posts

Posted 06 March 2011 - 05:41 PM