Photo

The term KIA, what does it cover

34 replies to this topic

#1 Don Don

Don Don

Lieut-Colonel

• Old Sweats
  • 720 posts
  • Interests:The Great War,History of the Royal Irish Regiment.
    Captain Clement Robertson was awarded the Victoria Cross for his valour in leading his tanks into the attack whilst under heavy fire from the enemy.
    His Mother received the VC in Dublin
    oil painting and gardening

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:44 PM

Greetings to all.
It’s probably a silly question to ask, but as I am still learning and getting more intrigued about WW1.
Here is my Question .The term KIA, what does it cover..( I know it means Killed in Action)
The reason being is I am researching two Royal Fusiliers who were killed by accident in Houplines on the same day 3-11-14 and are buried together in Houplines Cemetery. Both Medal Cards have KIA but their wills say “Killed by accident while on Military Duty” Can I take it that KIA covers killed by accident
John Dempsey Pte 9340
John Dempsey Pte 11420
Would be grateful for some obs on this one Thank you
Gerry

#2 kenf48

kenf48

Brigadier-General

• Old Sweats
  • 2,696 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:58 PM

11420 is listed as 'Died' in SDGW which means a cause of death other than 'kia - i.e in combat' or 'dow - died of wounds' and includes sickness and accidents.

While SDGW may not be the most accurate I'd suggest more so than a nameless clerk scribbling 'kia' on an mic, unlike the wills you have which are legal documents and therefore more definitive.

As for the other one I can't find him.

Ken

EDIT Probably because his name was 9340 Dingle and he is also listed as 'Died'

#3 centurion

centurion

General

• Old Sweats
  • 23,543 posts
  • Interests:Military history, science fiction

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:59 PM