Photo

HMS Viknor, sunk with all hands

28 replies to this topic

#1 InSouthsea

InSouthsea

Corporal

• Members2
  • 20 posts
  • Interests:I'm a professional web site designer and most of my interests revolve around web sites. Apart from my Memorials website I run two local business and community directories at<br />www.insouthsea.co.uk<br />www.inportsmouth.co.uk<br />plus about 60 others including:-<br />www.friendsofhighlandroadcemetery.org.uk<br />www.geometricdesign.co.uk<br />www.hampshirebuildings.org.uk<br />www.haiku.insouthsea.co.uk<br />www.redthreadhaiku.org<br />and my business site at:-<br />www.cis.insouthsea.co.uk<br /><br />Much of the rest of my time I'm involved in local history projects, tours and talks....<br /><br />....and I do like a glass of cider in the Florence Arms

Posted 07 January 2007 - 08:34 PM

I've been surveying the War Graves in Kingston Cemetery in Portsmouth and came across the grave of Frank Merrett. He was Master at Arms (Service No. 150888), Royal Navy, on board HMS Viknor on 13/01/1915, the day when the ship sank off the NW coast of Ireland. The odd thing here is that the Viknor sank “with all hands”. It is known that a few bodies were washed ashore in Ireland, but they were all buried where they landed. How did Merrett's body come to be buried in Portsmouth, especially as we can find no direct connection between him and the City. Could his body have been picked up at sea and it just so happened that the next time the ship came ashore it was in Portsmouth.

#2 Coldstreamer

Coldstreamer

Lieut-General

• Old Sweats
  • 9,003 posts
  • Interests:Coldstream Guards medals and research WW1

Selling a large part of my collection - PM if interested in any medals

Posted 07 January 2007 - 08:45 PM

you could try and get hold of a death certificate . You would expect it to say drowned, but perhaps he was run over by a bus on leave in Portsmouth?

And your theory is possible

#3 Kath

Kath

Brigadier-General

• Old Sweats