15 replies to this topic

#1 Graeme Clarke

Graeme Clarke

Major-General

• Old Sweats
  • 3,437 posts

Posted 29 February 2008 - 09:36 AM

Hi,

Can anyone tell me, please, what C Battery, 175th Brigade, Royal Field Artillery

were doing etc on Sunday 17 June 1917. I gather that they were in position south of Ypres but any further information
would he helpful.

Many thanks, regards,

Graeme

#2 davidfegga

davidfegga

Lieutenant

• Old Sweats
  • 223 posts
  • Interests:Researching the history of 175 (Staffordshire) Brigade RFA.

Posted 29 February 2008 - 01:29 PM

QUOTE (Graeme Clarke @ Feb 29 2008, 10:36 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi,

Can anyone tell me, please, what C Battery, 175th Brigade, Royal Field Artillery

were doing etc on Sunday 17 June 1917. I gather that they were in position south of Ypres but any further information
would he helpful.

Many thanks, regards,

Graeme

Hi Graeme.

I've been researching 175 brigade for a couple of years now as my Granddad an other relatives served in it. on this date they had just moved to new positions near Plugstreet map 28 SW ,ref U8C and D.

From the war diary..." Morning normal, B/175, C/175 subjected to 10 minutes intense bombardment with 15cm and a few 10.5 cm shells. C/175 3 killed, 1 wounded, 1 gun out of action." They withdrew to U13a 5.9, during which they suffered 3 more casualties including one officer, 2nd Lt Allen wounded in the leg.

The war diary never mentions O.R's by name but the three men fom C battery killed were.
Bert Griffiths Gnr 686472
Charles Stamp Gnr 686335
John Lewis Gnr 685781

Hope this helps, anything else about the brigade I can help with let me know.

Dave

#3 Graeme Clarke

Graeme Clarke

Major-General

• Old Sweats
  • 3,437 posts

Posted 29 February 2008 - 06:18 PM

Dave,

Many thanks for the help, the information is spot on, just what I needed.

(How could you leave sunny Brownhills {I'm from Walsall Wood} !!

Regards,

Graeme

#4 davidfegga

davidfegga

Lieutenant

• Old Sweats