Great War Forum

Remembered Today:

Sign in to follow this  
gem22

!914-15 Star on eBay

gem22

A 1914-15 Star is on eBay for a soldier whose name appears on my local war memorial. Our local historical society secretary is considering purchasing the medal but has asked my opinion. I am on the society committee and I am also the Poppy Appeal Organiser and Deputy Chairman of the local branch of the Royal British Legion; which is why I was approached.

My problem is that although I am in favour of purchasing the medal I have no experience of medal collecting. I have a slight doubt about the medal because the number, rank, and name on the reverse have been partially erased; which makes me wonder about the authenticity of the medal.

Can any member give me an idea as to what would be a sensible bid for this medal; and possibly some idea as to how I can confirm its authenticity?

Thanks

Garth

auchonvillerssomme

I think you need to consider what you are going to do with the medal once purchased, is it the one to Pledger?

Mick

welshdoc

Firstly e mail the seller and ask him / her if they can e mail you a high resolution pic of the back so you can see if the information given holds up.

In general a 1915 star casualty is worth £60-80 to a Scottish regiment £80 + a bit and for gallipolli a bit more say £80-100. The damage to the star though almost kills the value maybe £30-40 tops. But and there is always a but if somone really wants it to reunite a group or is an avid collector to the regiment that will push it back up. So for you as hes local I would not go much above £40 if you beleive the details to the medal are correct. Gareth

gem22

Gareth

Thanks for that

Mick

It is the one for H Pledger and it would be added to the collection of historical archive material.

Garth

per ardua per mare per terram