Great War Forum

Remembered Today:

Sign in to follow this  
aldlb57

Lieutenant Arthur Cecil Willison, DSO, MC - 2bn Sherwood Foresters 1918

aldlb57
Posted (edited)

I'm a teacher at the high school "Institution Notre Dame des Anges" in the town of Saint-Amand-les-Eaux in Northern France and doing research concerning the liberation of the town on October 21 1918 by the British 8 Division.

The first British soldier to enter the town was Lieutenant Arthur Cecil Willison, DSO, MC, the intelligence officer of 25th Infantry Brigade.

Willison continued a military career until after World War II.

Concerning the 1914-1921 period, the following information was found:

Empld. as Brig. Intell. Off. 24 Inf. Brig. from 4.8.18. France and Belgium 22/3/15 to 11/11/18.

Wounded twice.

Despatches L.G. 21/12/17 and 9/7/19. 1914-15 S.

B.W.M. V.M. D.S.O. M.C. and Bar. (L.G. 24/2/42. - Bar to DSO)

His career followed the following path:

Extract from the 'Gradation List of Officers of the British Army' (p148):

WILLISON, Arthur Cecil, DSO, MC, p.s.c#. Born 2/1/96.

(Mobd. Spec. Res. To 2/7/15 - 332 dys). (from Spec. Res.)

Sherwood Foresters

2-Lt. 4/5/15 (3/7/15).

Lt. 6/7/16 17/10/16

actg. Capt. 6/7/16 to 1/2/17

Royal tank Corps

Capt. 1/1/23

Capt. 1/1/23 (5/1/24)

R.T.R. Maj. 5/5/35 

actg. Lt.-Col. 30/5/40 to 29/8/40

temp. Lt.Col. 30/8/40 to 20/1/41

Lt.-Col. 21/1/41. (Supernumerary 21/1/44).

actg. Col. 15/9/41 to 14/3/42

temp. Col. 15/3/42 to 22/4/43

actg. Brig. 15/9/41 to 14/3/42

temp. Brig. 15/3/42 to 22/4/43

Functions 

Educn. Officer (temp. Capt.) 20/2/19 to 22/8/19

Garr. Adjt. Blackdown 3/2/21 to ----,

G.S.O.3 India 1/2/35 to 30/9/37

D.A.A.G. India 1/10/37 to 3/1/39

G.S.O.1 Mid. East 15/9/41 to 1/6/42

Military Record:

Arthur Cecil Willison was in the 1st and 2nd Battalions (Regular) of the Sherwood Foresters (Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Regiment), 1915 to 1923/4.